Cleanse Day One

20140207-225350.jpg

Friday we started our Sass inspired Cleanse.  I created a menu with no carbs and more variety of food compared to the 5 Day Fast Forward Cleanse.  Here were my four meals.

Breakfast:  Strawberry Parfait with Vietnamese cinnamon, vanilla extract and sliced almonds.  Coffee with 2% milk.

Lunch:  Kale Salad with homemade vinaigrette, black beans, Salsa Verde, Roasted Cumin, Peppadew peppers

Dinner: Mexican Salad with homemade lime vinaigrette, romaine lettuce, salsa, black and kidney beans, avocado, cilantro, roasted cumin and cheddar cheese

Snack:  Smoothie with a half of a Banana, Strawberries, Frozen Mango, Vietnamese cinnamon, vanilla extract, yogurt and milk with a side of 2 tablespoons of sliced almonds

I was very sore from working out on Thursday so I did 20 minutes of yoga in the morning.  Have you seen the Tone it Up girls on Bravo?  I love those 2 perky trainers.  They have great youtube videos I’ve been checking out.  This is one of my favorite yoga workouts because it has most of my favorite poses:  cat pose, triangle, runners lunge, pigeon pose, spinal twist and one minute of meditation.  Check out the link below.  Namaste!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uBl2SSOjLYE

20140207-225409.jpg

I made a pitcher of unsweetened iced tea with passion fruit and black tea, sliced lemons, limes and oranges.  Here’s a better recipe but I didn’t have the apple juice, frozen raspberries or mint.  http://bloggitude.com/2011/01/18/my-sangria-tea/.

I made our smoothies with our new personal blender that arrived yesterday.  You can only make one smoothie at a time but it’s easy to clean and easy to maneuver because it is very portable.

20140207-225425.jpg

My husband had to go to work so I made him a Kale salad.  Kale holds up really well all day with dressing on it.  It doesn’t wilt.  I didn’t have a to go container large enough for the salad so I threw his into a huge Ziploc with strawberries, goat cheese and almonds.  They have plates and forks at work.  He wasn’t forced to eat his cleanse salad out of a Ziploc bag.  Also, below I sent him off with a yogurt, Ziploc of 2 tablespoons of almonds and a banana.

20140207-225434.jpg

20140207-225445.jpg

Overall the first day went great.  The lowfat yogurt had too much sugar in it so next time I would go with nonfat but my goal with this cleanse was to find quicker solutions for a cleanse that has variety.  I can tell by the end of the day I feel lighter and more energetic.

2 thoughts on “Cleanse Day One

  1. Pingback: Kale…mmm | Bloggitude

Leave a Reply

