Goals will Change Your Life!

“Goals will change your life!”  -Dave Ramsey

I’ve been trying to catch Dave Ramsey’s radio program as much as I can.  I was lucky enough to catch it Monday, January 2nd after New Year’s Eve.  He started it with the 5 things that make goals work:

  1. Specific
  2. Measurable
  3. Yours
  4. Time Limit
  5. Put it in writing

So, my current goal is to lose 21 lbs and my reward will be to get $1050 out of our household budget for shopping!  See the post here.

  • I did make it specific-lose weight
  • I did make it measurable-21 lbs
  • I did make it mine-I want it to happen.  I’m not doing it for anyone else.
  • Time limit-crap.  maybe I should have an end game here.  I missed this one.
  • Put it in writing-it’s on my blog for all the world to see.  duh!

So, I’m going to go easy on myself and have a goal of 1 lb a week.  I tried for 2 lbs before and rarely hit it.  So, I have 21 weeks from Jan 2nd to lose 21 lbs.

Time Limit-May 27th

So, I have until Memorial Day weekend to hit my goal.  Perfect timing to hit up holiday sales with my $1050 for summer shopping.

I hope this helps.  Dave Ramsey also says handling money is 80% behavior & only 20% head knowledge.  I’m thinking it’s 90/10 with losing weight!  Here’s his website if you’d like to take a look.  www.DaveRamsey.com

One thought on “Goals will Change Your Life!

  1. Pingback: Happy New Years! | cinchbylaura

Leave a Reply

