It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

I was able to get Christmas cookies baked & decorated, presents wrapped & sent & Christmas Cards sent out all in one weekend.  Last weekend I made my mom’s “Queen of Sugar Cookies” recipe.  Here it is:

Sift together in a bowl and set aside:
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt.
In a mixer put 1 and 1/2 sticks of butter, softened and whip and add 1 cup sugar, 2 eggs and 1 teaspoon vanilla.  Beat until light and fluffy.
Add flour mixture and mix.
Chill for one hour or more.
Cut in favorite shapes or use a round glass and bake at 375 for 8 to 10 minutes. 
Ps.  I put on red or green sugars before I bake them.  If you want to ice them, mix 1/2 confectioner’s sugar with 1 1/2 Tablespoons water and your choice of food coloring and spread on cooled cookie. 

When I bake (which isn’t very often) I try to use the best ingredients I can find.  I used King Arthur flour, Plugra high fat butter & Nielsen-Massey Vanilla in this recipe.

I usually use her icing recipe but I saw a box of a Royal Icing mix at Williams Sonoma and decided to give it a try.  It was only $7.95.  I think I may like the confectioner’s sugar icing better though.

If you are off work and have time before Christmas to bake & decorate I highly recommend this recipe.  Also, playing Michael Buble’s Christmas album while baking will help make the time pass!

One thought on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Leave a Reply

