Herbs & Spices for Mexican Food

When I cook Mexican, which is quite a bit, these are my go to herbs & spices.

  • The Chipotle Tabasco sauce is my new favorite find.  It has this delicious smokey flavor that adds another layer to every dish and it is not too spicy.  I’m not sure if this is Cinch approved.  But I just use a couple of drops.
  • I found this salt free Mexican Fiesta herb mix, in the middle, at Whole Foods and really like it.  A little goes a long way.
  • I go through Cumin almost as quick oregano.  I add a ton of it to beans to give them a lot of flavor.
  • The other must is cilantro.  I love cilantro and I can never have enough on Mexican food.  I try to get it fresh but it doesn’t last long in the fridge.  I have a small shaker of dried cilantro but I honestly don’t even taste it when I use it.  I think I need a potted cilantro plant for my window.

Just as Cinch points out, using herbs & spices can really help in avoiding adding salt.  With all of these flavors I doubt you will miss the salt too much.

4 thoughts on “Herbs & Spices for Mexican Food

  1. This is awsom, another person how loves cumin. Haaaay 🙂 I cook chilly it and my essentials are cumin cinnamon chilly pouder and garlic. I love garlic more than cumin I will say. So hey what is this Cinch thing all about ???

Leave a Reply

