Grilled Peach Salad

My husband was working Saturday night and I was about to head out to California Pizza Kitchen and pick up my favorite roasted vegetable salad curbside.  I went online to order and saw their new salad, Caramelized Peach Salad.  You can find it at CPK.com.

I then realized I had most of these things at home with a few substitutions.  I grabbed my indoor grill and here’s what I came up with!

  • Produce:  Arugula; peach; shallots; dried cranberries
  • Whole Grain:  1 slice 100% Whole Grain Sprouted Sourdough Bread
  • Lean Protein:  Goat Cheese
  • Plant Based Fat:  EVOO; pine nuts
  • SASS:  Garlic, lemon juice, oregano, rosemary, black pepper

I didn’t measure everything out too much.  I winged it and probably used too much olive oil.  I mixed olive oil with lemon juice, garlic, black pepper, oregano & rosemary.  First, I heated up the grill and sprayed it with olive oil Pam & brushed the slice of bread with a little of the oil mixture.  Then, I threw the shallots, peach, pine nuts & bread on the grill.

I dressed the arugula with the oil mixture then topped with a little bit of cranberries, goat cheese, peach, pine nuts & shallots.  This was SO delicious and I will have to make it again when my husband is home.  I’m thinking I will put some chicken or shrimp in a citrus-garlic marinade and top his salad with grilled chicken or shrimp since he’s not a vegetarian.  This may be added to the dinner rotation about every 2 weeks now.  I’ll have to check out CPK and see how their salad stacks up against mine.