Homemade Pizza

Pizza is one of my favorite foods.  I’ve been trying to create a great homemade pizza for years-from making my own dough to throwing pizzas on the grill.  I think I figured out what I was doing wrong all these years.  I wasn’t using tomato paste in the sauce.  So here is what I came up with:

Ingredients:

  • Frozen wheat crust from Whole Foods-thawed
  • Tomato paste
  • Canned tomatoes
  • Shallots
  • olive oil
  • dried oregano
  • fresh basil
  • Di Stefano Burrata Mozzarella

This cheese is around $10 at Whole Foods but it is so worth it.  It has a mozzarella outer shell and a creamy delicious inside.  You can taste the creaminess on the pizza.

Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees.

Take 3 diced shallots and saute them in olive oil for a couple of minutes (if you have some red wine around you can add some here for more flavor).  Then mix in about 6 tablespoons of tomato paste and saute a couple of minutes.  Then add canned tomatoes, fresh oregano, basil, pepper & little salt.  Bring to a boil & letter simmer for 20 min.  The tomato paste makes the sauce thicker for the pizza.

Then roll out the dough as thin as possible & stretch it as far as you can without breaking the dough.  The thinner the better.

Brush the bottom of the dough with a little olive oil and put on a cookie sheet.  Spread the tomato sauce on top & pop it in on the top rack for about 4 minutes.  Slice the mozzarella thin and after the 4 min. top the pizza with the mozzarella and cook another 5-6 minutes.  And you are done!  Top with dried oregano, cracked pepper & fresh basil.  This was so delicious that I ate too much of it.

I’ve heard if you have a pizza stone you can cook the pizza faster.  I’ll keep my eye out for one on sale.  For my husband’s pizza I got a small piece of italian sausage and sautéed it then topped his pizza.  He loved it!

The key to keeping this healthy is to make the dough & cheese very thin and with every bite you mostly get the sauce.  Also, portion control is key. 

Buon Appetito!

Leave a Reply

