The math behind weight loss

I saw an article on weight loss on the Mayo Clinic’s website.  It had great advice but what stood out was the math of how to lose 1 or 2 lbs a week. 

Below is my calculation on Cinch without any exercise:

  • 1600 calories of eating
  • -2000 calories burned through daily activity
  • = -400 calories/day

So just doing the Cinch diet and no exercise I would lose almost 1 lb a week.  To lose 2 lbs a week I’d need to burn another 600 calories a day or cut 600 calories.  With my body type I can burn approx. 100 calories for every mile I briskly walk (3.8mph) or jog.  So that is 6 miles a day to burn an overall extra 1000 calories per day and a loss of 2 lbs a week.

Below is my calculation on Cinch with exercise:

  • 1600 calories of eating
  • -2000 calories burned through daily activity
  • -600 calories burned through exercise
  • =  -1000 calories/day

Here is a calculator to figure out how many calories you burn a day through regular activity.  I figured on average I burn 2000 calories a day.  Also, I believe that the Cinch diet is around 1600 calories a day so that is what I based my calculation on.

Below is my calculation for Cindy who is on the HCG diet with no exercise:

  •  500 calories of eating
  • -2110 calories burned through daily activity
  • = -1610 calories/day

1610 * 7 = 11,270 extra calories burned a week

11,270/3500 = 3.22 lbs a week lost

She lost 7 lbs last week even after splurging which is about double for what the calculation predicts.  She is just beginning this diet and for some reason you lose a lot of weight when you first start a diet.  I have no idea why that is and google was no help on this one.

Some more calculations:

  • One pound=3500 calories
  • 3500 calories/7 days= 500 calories/day  If you burn an extra 500 calories a day you can lose one pound in a week
  • 7000 calories/7days=1000 calories/day.  Here’s how to lose 2 lbs in a week.

I’m a left brain type of thinker which uses logic & analyzes information.  So this calculation helps me visualize what I’m doing to my body every day.  Right brainers are random, intuitive and look at things on the whole.  So you guys might want to have an end goal in mind while intuitively feeling if you have eaten enough or exercised enough.

Leave a Reply

