Italian Veggie Soup

I had a “use what you have” recipe that I made and it was SO, SO yummy I had to share.  Here’s the recipe cinch style (except for the potatoes & bread):

  • Produce:  1/4 cup each of chopped onions, carrots, celery, potatoes; 1 cup canned fire roasted tomatoes; and 2 cups veggie broth
  • Whole Grain:  Fresh french bread
  • Lean Protein:  White beans & touch of parmesan cheese
  • Plant-based fat:  1 tablespoon olive oil
  • SASS:  garlic, oregano, rosemary, black pepper

First I soaked white beans overnight.  As always, be sure to add baking soda to soften the skin then the next day bring the beans to a boil with a bay leaf and simmer for an hour.

Then I did lots of chopping.  I usually do a fine chop for soups but decided to do a rough chop and I liked it so much better.  I use a Vidalia Wizard Chop that my mom gave me:

Saute onion, carrots & celery in olive oil for about 15 minutes because they are big chunks.  Add the garlic in the last 2 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, diced potatoes, veggie broth & spices.  Here’s the canned tomatoes I use which are my absolute favorite:

Bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes.  Add the beans 5 minutes before serving to heat up.  Here’s the soup simmering.  This is 3 servings.

I did cheat and skipped my whole grain bread for just a plain baguette that I got for my husband.  I toasted it and dipped it in the soup.  For my husbands soup I chopped 2 slices of bacon in olive oil and then added the veggies and followed the same recipe.  He really liked it and I will for sure make it again.  Anything with olive oil, tomatoes & garlic I’m gonna love.  I heated this up for 2 more meals and it tasted just as great.

Leave a Reply

