Day 16: The Cinch! Diet

  • Cappuccino with skim milk, Mango Mint Avocado Smoothie (P. 106)
  • Spicy Avocado Tostadas (P. 119)
  • Piece of Chocolate
  • Vegetable Soup (made with puzzle pieces)
  • Dark Chocolate Oatmeal (P. 101)
  • 60 minutes walking on the treadmill

I’ve had frozen mango in my freezer for over a week in anticipation of the Mango Mint avocado smoothie.  Until yesterday I just couldn’t bring myself to ruin my favorite fruit with avocado.  Finally, it was the day and I would bravely make this concoction.  I put everything in the blender and thought, “Man, this is not gonna be good”.  I took a spoonful of it after it was blended and couldn’t even try it.  I thought just getting it down with a straw was going to be the easiest way.

It was REALLY good.  You can’t taste the avocado and it just makes it creamy.  All that worry was for nothing.  After 2 weeks of her recipes I just need to trust Cynthia Sass!  She’s brilliant.

I had the Spicy Avocado Tostadas again.  I was really hungry after walking on the treadmill for an hour and this was really filling and has great flavor.

It was very cold & windy last night in the middle of the blizzard and I decided to try to put a vegetable soup together with the puzzle pieces.  I used what I had and it came out delicious!

This was SO good.  These are giant mugs and it was so much I couldn’t finish it.  The soup on the right is for my husband and I shredded chicken breast in his.  Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/4 cup of chopped onions, chopped carrots, chopped red peppers, frozen broccoli; 1 cup canned fire roasted tomatoes; 1 cup vegetable broth; 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 small minced garlic clove, oregano, rosemary, parsley, black pepper, bay leaf

Saute onion, carrots, red peppers for about 6 min in olive oil.  Add the garlic & saute for about one minute.  Add the tomatoes, broth & water and bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer.  Add the corn, broccoli & seasonings.  Simmer on the stove then serve with cheese.

Next time I will not use broccoli because it got mushy.  Also, I will use a monterey jack cheese or something creamier than parmesan.

I was craving chocolate so I made the oatmeal again.  I used a little less oats to cut down on the whole grain.  While they were cooking I had a slice of smoked gouda cheese & 1 cup of fresh blueberries.

Such a wonderful day with so much fresh food!

3 thoughts on “Day 16: The Cinch! Diet

  1. That smoothie recipe scared me also since mango and avocado are two of my favorites but I couldn’t imagine them together. I’ll have to give it a try!

  2. When I lived in Florida I had a friend who made mango avocado salad that was delish! Just chopped up each and then added salt/pepper and maybe some balsamic? Anyway… it was tasty.

Leave a Reply

