Emotional Eating

So, I am sitting here waiting for the icemageddon in Kansas City.  They are projecting icy rain all day mixed with cold air.  Tomorrow, a foot of snow is coming that could turn into a blizzard with a chance of the rare weather event of ThunderSnow.  Are you kidding me Kansas City?

I usually get the winter blues pretty bad around this time of year.  Luckily, I have great memories of my Caribbean cruises and trips to Jamaica to keep me warm.  This is our beach at the Half Moon Resort in Montego Bay.  Let’s just go there in our heads, AAAHHHHHH.  Pure relaxation.  It was our first day so please excuse my husband’s pastiness.

Now back to reality.  I had a tough weekend, emotionally.  Friday I got the news that my grandmother had a massive stroke and is living her last days and she is halfway across the country.  Then Saturday I got news that my sister is in the emergency room with pneumonia hooked up to IV’s, again halfway across the country.  Here I am in a new city and I don’t know a soul except my husband.  Slowly, the feelings crept up and I was very sad and anxious this weekend.

Yesterday, I was craving carbs and really wanted to eat greasy pizza.  In the end, the overindulgence I did eat was not much.  Let me tell you if there was a bag of chips in the pantry last night I would have had at it.

This morning I woke up and started thinking about everything.  I decided to open Cinch and reread Chapter 8 about emotional eating & it really helped.  The line where she says, “You’re standing in front of the fridge with the door open not because your body needs fuel, but because your mind needs a diversion.”  That really hit home.  When you have anxiety, fear or just sadness food can fill that space and provide a quick fix of joy.

The other point she made was how we are raised to have an emotional connection to food.  Now, I am the youngest of 4 girls & we had a family motto about meal time, “Eat past the pain”!  Now, that is a crystal clear sign that I have an emotional connection to food.

I liked Cynthia’s solution to this or “unlearning emotional eating” as she called it.  Reread this chapter and I think if some hard times or pain come into your life this is a useful tool in retraining ourselves.  Here’s my retraining.  I’m going to take a long, hot bath and remember the great times I had with my grandmother.  There were many:  cookouts every Saturday, spending the night and she would put curlers in our hair, her terrible polyester pants she would not let go of, her beautiful flowers she planted in her flower bed, the wonderful letter she wrote to me when I was a freshman in college.  Then when my husband comes home I will ask him for a big bear hug!

Leave a Reply

